Learning and changing expectations and preparations…

Good thing I learn quickly and am flexible…I’m starting to acquire a list of things that I kept in the car in Walla Walla that were a good idea for preparedness that just *do not* work here in Fairbanks…

1) wet wipes – not very useful frozen solid.

2) bottled water. Ditto!

3) your camera. Say, you’re catching on…You learn quick!

4) Clif Bars – how hard *are* your teeth, anyway? You know your mom paid a lot of money for those teeth, right? Shame if you should break one… πŸ˜›

5) Ball point pens. Just use a *pencil*, okay?

Things that are a good idea:

1) A battery jumper pack.

2) sub zero washer fluid – to clean off all the grime and salt from the road.

3) An extra plug in cord – to replace the one that got shredded and destroyed when you mistakenly dragged the first one down the road like I did in the fog yesterday morning. :-O

4) A heavy tow strap and hooks so that you can ask that nice guy in the beat up pick up truck to pull you out after you mistakenly pull off the road to turn around and get stuck in soft snow. I had a folding shovel …*so* not adequate to the task.

5) I bought a telescoping broom to push all the snow off the roof of the Forester after a snow fall, so that it doesn’t fly off the roof in traffic and obscure the vision of the driver behind me.

6) Extra gloves, boots, woolies, etc., just in case.

Snickers is happy to tell you that dog biscuits are just as eatable at -25 as they are at 25 or 85.

I’m sure this list will grow longer. But, I can be taught! It’s nice and dry and snowy here – not slushy like in WA State. So, *that’s* something. πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Learning and changing expectations and preparations…

  1. Mom

    What a wonderful description of your life and careers so far. .You handle anything you tackle so well. Forgive me if my pride is showing. Also if you think your ’40s are bad wait until you are 72 and not getting any younger.Enjoy it now and look back later at what you have accomplished.

  2. Susan

    re:

    I bought a telescoping broom to push all the snow off the roof of the Forester after a snow fall, so that it doesn’t fly off the roof in traffic and obscure the vision of the driver behind me.

    Not so useful anymore, eh?
    πŸ™‚

  3. Heh heh! Nope! But, it was still a great picnic! If you send me the pic I’ll post it.

Leave a Reply

